I Gave a Lift to an EFF Supporter.

The Economic Freedom Fighters is a political party in South Africa. The EFF was founded in 2013, by expelled former African National Congress Youth League President Julius Malema, and his allies. The EFF is not known for being pro-white.

“So you’re an EFF supporter” was not my first question. The question followed after warm conversations and laughter between me, Benjamin and Vincent. I call Benjamin, Benji. I used to work with him when I was working for Sasol back in 2013. On my way to Pretoria from Hartebeespoortdam I saw Benji standing on the street waving at me. I stepped on my brakes and pulled off the road. He was waiting for a taxi. “Benji!” I shouted as I rolled down my window. Benji and Vincent was on their way to Atteridgeville, where they are living. Atteridgeville is a township in South Africa. I offered to adjust my route a bit to make it possible to pass directly by Atteridgeville to drop them off.

They jumped in my little car, I was introduced to Vincent and off we went for our short road trip of about twenty five minutes! On my back seat was a book that was recommended by someone else that I was busy reading. ” The leader in you.”
Vincent noticed it right away and asked if he may read it. “of course!” I said happily!

The book on the back seat of my
car Vincent asked to read.

I noticed Vincent’s red EFF shirt. Benji asked about my most recent traveling and thus we engaged in conversations about the French people and the culture of Germany and how history influences nations.

A few minutes in I asked, “so Vincent, you are an EFF supporter?”
“Yes I am” he said.
We continued our conversations about why he supports the EFF and the rest of the political situation in South Africa.

We all agreed on one thing, what a mess our political situation is.

We reached their drop off spot. A part of me was wishing that our journey together could have been longer. I enjoyed it. I loved having them in the car and engaging in conversations with them.

We snapped a picture to capture this moment and off they went.

The great picture we took together.

As I drove off I remembered that I still wanted to ask them if they would vote for me as president one day… 😉

Behind a nations politics are it’s citizens.
Behind most of the citizens are people with a longing for a better degree of life. Within them are a sense of humanity, that is not particularly playing part in the political crisis of a nation, such as our current crisis of racism. Yes, there are citizens that are racist, both black and white, but maybe our current politicians are adding fuel to a fire that should have stopped burning 25 years ago in this nation. A fire that should have never had set flame to begin with.

In the car with Vincent, an EFF supporter, I did not once felt threaten for my life. He as a person treated me with dignity and respect and vice versa. In fact, Vincent even gave me a call later to make sure I reached my home safely after I adjusted my route to drop them off.

The political situation of a nation is important, but the people behind it, is more important.

Event happened on: 17 October’19 🕛
South Africa 📍

Endless love,
Nitanja